Connect with us


UEFA Women’s Under-17 Championship LIVE: England v Norway stream



Everything you need to knowpublished at 19:15 3 May

BBC Sport

The Past

The current champions are
France, beating Spain 3-2 in the final last year held in Estonia.

England finished in joint
third place alongside Switzerland.

Germany currently hold the
most titles with eight.

First held in 2008, the
tournament was won by Germany, beating France 3-0 in the final, with England
finishing in Fourth.

European Champion Lucy
was called into the England under-17 squad in March 2007, aged

She was also part of the
team that came fourth in the finals of the 2008 UEFA Women’s Under-17
Championship. She only made a starting appearance in the semi-final, but was
still included in UEFA’s list of players to watch from the tournament, both for
her contributions to attacking play and her speed in defence.

The Present – who to look out for

Leicester City’s Denny
made her WSL debut earlier this
season and has gone on to make four appearances for the Foxes senior team along
with scoring her first senior goal in a 5-2 victory over Bristol City. As England’s
Number 9
she’s scored ten international goals including a number in
qualifying that helped see England reach the finals in Sweden.

Denny Draper in action for Leicester City Women in the WSLImage source, Getty Images
Image caption,

Leicester City’s Denny Draper is the standout name in England’s squad having made her WSL debut earlier this season.


Consisting of three phases: two qualifying rounds open to all eligible nations and the finals phase which is composed of 8 qualified teams.

In 2011, the tournament was expanded to eight teams and in 2014, the eight qualified teams play round-robin in two groups of four.

England find themselves in Group A alongside hosts Sweden, Norway and France. Group B consists of Spain, Belgium, Poland Portugal. Four teams will progress from the group stage and straight in to the semi-finals.

Continue Reading